What is the capital of Australia? – Canberra

What are the national symbols of Australia? –  Golden wattle (flower), opal (gemstone), green and gold (colors)

When was the Golden Wattle accepted as a national symbol? – 1912

Which is the highest mountain in Australia? – Mount Kosciuszko (7,310ft)

Who was awarded the first Australian of the Year Award? – Professor Macfarlane Burnet (1960)




Australia is the 6th largest country in the world, occupying an entire continent of some 7.6 million square kilometers.

Australia is divided into six states (Southern Australia, Western Australia, New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, and Tasmania) and two self-governing territories: Northern Territory and Australian Capital Territory (which is around Canberra, the capital city).

Over 200 different languages and dialects are spoken in Australia including 45 Indigenous languages. The most common non-English spoken languages are Italian, Greek, Cantonese, Arabic, Vietnamese and Mandarin.

Ayers Rock also called ‘Uluru’ which is in the center of Australia is the largest alone standing rock in the world.

The Great Barrier Reef in Eastern Australia is the biggest coral reef in the world. The reef consists of more than 3,000 reefs in which live more than 350 species of corals and over 1,500 species of fish.

The first Australian Friendly Society with the motto of ‘Advance Australia’ was the Australian Natives’ Association (ANA) formed in Victoria in 1871.

While 1988 was named a ‘Year of Mourning’ for Aboriginals, it was also regarded as a celebration of survival where the Aboriginal community staged a 5 kilometer march for “Freedom, Justice and Hope” in Sydney.